Margaret McNamara Education Grants (MMEG) Bursary 2025

Margaret McNamara Education Grants (MMEG) invites students to apply for their bursary program for the 2025 academic year. This bursary targets South African female students to apply for their bursary rewards.

Margaret McNamara Education Grants (MMEG) is a non-profit, public charity that has been established since 1981. MMEG supports and empowers women from developing countries by providing them with education grants, aiding them in establishing their future and the future of their country.

The organization draws its inspiration from Margaret McNamara, who had a goal of promoting education and gender equality. Margaret was the wife of the World Bank’s 5th President and used her influence to be an advocate for these elements of development programs. Before her death, Margaret received the highest civilian distinction in the United States, the Medal of Honour, in recognition of her important contributions.

About the MMEG Bursary Programme

Margaret McNamara Education Grants cover ALL fields of study, towards a Certificate, Undergraduate, Graduate, or Post Doctorate qualification, at selected Universities. (female students from other countries may also apply if their country is on the MMEG Country Eligibility List).

The goal of the MMEG grant is to help women from developing countries, so that they may further their studies and thereby improve the lives of women and children in these countries. MMEG is one of the few organizations that provides financial assistance and bursaries, specifically to women.

MMEG provides a grant of up to US$7 000 (approximately R128 000), however, grants may vary depending on the availability of funds and exchange rates. The grant funds will be awarded in February 2025. Shortlisted candidates will be contacted for a telephonic interview within 2 to 3 months after the application deadline. Results will be announced in December 2024, on the MMEG website.

Application Requirements for The MMEG Bursary

Applicants must meet the criteria below before applying. Below are the application requirements for the MMEG Bursary 2025;

  • You must be a South African national (nationals from the following countries may also apply: MMEG Country Eligibility List)
  • You must have a study permit for South Africa if applying from an eligible country other than South Africa
  • You must identify as a woman/ female
  • You must be 25 years old or older at the time of the application deadline
  • You must officially enrolled to study towards a Certificate, Undergraduate qualification, Graduate qualification, or Post Doctorate studies
  • You must be registered for in-person studies, at one of the following accredited Universities in South Africa: Cape Peninsula of Technology, Central University of Technology, Durban University of Technology, Mangosuthu University of Technology, Fort Hare University, Limpopo University, Nelson Mandela University, North-West University, Rhodes University, Sefako Makgatho Health Science University, Sol Plaatje University, Stellenbosch University, Tshwane University, University of Cape Town, University of Johannesburg, University of KwaZulu-Natal, University of Mpumalanga, University of Pretoria, University of the Free State, University of the Western Cape, University of the Witwatersrand, University of Venda, University of Zululand, Vaal University of Technology, Walter Sisulu University
  • You must be enrolled full-time or part-time (with at least 2 courses per semester or term)
  • You must aim to be fully enrolled for a complete academic term after receiving the bursary
  • You must be enrolled for at least 1 more academic term after the award of the MMEG grant in December (from January to July 2025)
  • You must plan to graduate not more than 3 years after receiving the bursary
  • You must NOT be related to any International Monetary Fund, World Bank Group, or Inter-American Development Bank staff member, spouse, retiree, or MMEG Board member

How to Apply for The MMEG Bursary 2025

Applications must be submitted online at MMEG Bursary Application 2025
(select “South Africa program” in the first question of the application).

Applicants will be required to Register an Account before they can log in and apply.

Enter “” in the field asking how you heard about the MMEG bursary.

Required Documents For Application

Submit clear copies of the following supporting documentation along with your online application (the submission of these documents is compulsory – if any items are missing, your application may be disqualified):

  • ID document with photo
  • Passport with photo
  • Study permit page or visa page with a current passport
  • Second passport page with photo
  • Proof of official registration at a university
  • Latest academic reports and transcripts (on institute letterhead)
  • Brief details on your personal story, brief details about your studies, as well as how your experiences and plans are connected to your commitment to helping women and children in developing countries
  • A brief paragraph explaining an estimate of your financial situation for the academic year and how you plan to fund your financial needs
  • Summary of your thesis, including objective, methodology, and findings, and how it relates to your career goals
  • 2 reference letters:
    • 1 reference letter from a faculty member at your university and 1 from someone who can vouch for your character (this can NOT be a family member)
    • At least 1 of the referees must have known you for 2 semesters/ equivalent or more
    • The reference letters must include the referees’ email addresses so that they can be contacted and provided with an email link from Embark Online where they can submit their recommendations
    • If the candidate is successful, they will then be contacted by Embark. (If your referee has NOT received an email from Embark, ask them to verify that the pop-up blocker is off; check their spam folder, and/or write an email to MMEG to request an individual link.)

Note: documents must preferably be submitted in PDF format, JPEG, or PNG.

Also See: FASSET Bursary South Africa 2025 – Apply Now

Closing Date for The MMEG Bursary

14 September 2024 (at 11:59 pm Eastern Standard Time).
(Applications submitted after this date will not be accepted – please apply before the closing date to ensure your application is considered.)

MMEG Contact Details

If you have any inquiries or require support, the institution’s help center is readily available to address your concerns. Feel free to reach out and connect with the dedicated team at the specified address for prompt and efficient assistance.

Candidates should read the MMEG Bursary FAQ’s before submitting any queries.

official website:

Leave a Reply